Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
considerable experience on many different makes of cars.

I ahve built and helped build american drag cars, carbed and fuel injected. I ahve built 5 V8 engines from mild to wild.

I heavily modified my 1997 Audi A4 1.8T quattro, from the turbo, to drivetrain parts, to suspension and brakes. built my audi coupe quattro, installed a supercharger on a 2.8 A4.

Replaced clutches, cylinder heads, tuned stand alone EFI system.

I have acces to a lift, lathe, bridgeport, band saws, drill presses, tire machine, tire balancer, and alot of speciality tools.

my two best friends are fabricators by trade one with an engineering degree.

so I ask this, would I be crazy to try and find a Turbo R and expect to do most if not all the work myself?

I do not have unlimited cash, but I am quite ambitious, and skilled/patient, and I have overcome every obstacle an auto has ever thrown at me.

Where can I get a service manual? Is there even one? I suppose I should contact flying Spares?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hi Justin!

Yes, you can work on these cars yourself. I would suggest that you stop by: www.rrtechnical.info./. You'll find the manuals there in Adobe format.

I'm presently looking at building a MegaSquirt conversion for a Spur. If the results are as good as have been realized on a Mercedes 4.5 Litre, we could be on to something.

Good luck in your pursuits.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Be carefull of some of these manuals. I paid $40 for one for my 99 Seraph. Seems every issue raised went back to "use the computer diagnosis" for repair procedure. Totally worthless to me. I believe you will have no trouble maintaining this car yourself. Lots of electronics to drive you batty..

·
Registered
3,688 Posts
I can state, without any risk of contradiction, that the manuals posted at rrtechnical.info (and free to download for anyone) are the real manuals from Crewe.