Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, my dad has a 1985 bentley mulsanne turbo which has been off the road for a while now as the last time the car was moved it sprung a leak from underneath causing the rear end of the car to drop and the braking system doesn't appear to be working as it should, so as far as i can make out (im only a amature mechanic with a basic knowledge of the way cars work :? ) we have a leak on the hydraulic braking and suspension system so my questions are 1. Is it safe to start the car up in this state to move it out of the garage without risk of damaging anything, such as running a a pump or anything dry? 2. if the leaky hose (which im hoping thats all it is) is located and replaced what is and how easy is the procedure of refilling bleeding the system?

·
Registered
4,014 Posts
Gary,

The full workshop manual for your car is available in online form at the Rolls-Royce Owners' Club of Australia Technical Library - SZ Series Section. Download all the sections of TSD4400.

You will want to start by reading Chapter G - Hydraulics. This covers bleeding the system and fault diagnosis for same. You could have a bad rear sphere or any number of other leaks back there. I am presuming the leak is from underneath the car and has not originated inside the trunk behind the carpeting at the struts.

Bleeding these cars is far easier than many since the pumps are constantly supplying pressure & mineral oil when the car is running.

If you are able to push the car out of the garage I'd try that first (and I've done this with my Shadow II with only myself and one assistant pushing) rather than starting the engine until you find out where the leak is from and check to see how much mineral oil remains in the reservoirs.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Brian,