Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to all this.

Just bought my car, and the dash and one door capping need the laquer stripping and renewing, a job I plan to tackle this forthcoming weekend.

The dash appears to be quite straightforward to remove, but very unsure about how to remove a door capping. I would also appreciate some advice on how to remove the mirror surrounds on the C-pillars too.

Whilst on topic, is Nitromors the best way forward for the stripping, or would I be better with an hot air gun?

For re-coating, I'm planning on using two-pack laquer, which is available locally in aerosol form. Did some touch-up work on another car with a two-pack aerosol can (used an hair-dryer on it between coats) and was amazed with the quality of the finish. I expect to put about fifteen coats on the wood to make them look original as the laquer is very thick.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Many thanks

Paul

·
Registered
4,012 Posts
Remove the window switch escutcheons by very, very gently easing them out which is best done with two very small screwdrivers trying to lift each side a tiny bit then the other, etc., etc.. The legs on these things are very prone to breakage if you're not careful.

You must remove the interior door panels, which if they're held on the same way as the Shadow series, by gently prying away from the door to release the metal clips that hold them in place. There may or may not, I can't remember, be screws that hold the door handle to the door frame itself. If so these have to come off before the panels.

Once the panels are off, you'll find six set screws across the top area of the door that hold the cap rails on. Remove 'em and lift out the cap rails.

·
Registered
51 Posts