Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a non running 1991 Silver Spur to work on in my auto shop class. I'm just in beginning stages of trying to figure out what is going on with the Rolls. Before I was a teacher I worked in the automotive repair field for over 30 years so this is probably not out of my league hopefully but I'm not familiar with Rolls Royce. With that I may have a few questions when we get into the troubleshooting. We started by changing the oil and draining out the 12 years really dark gas. This week fresh gas and see if the fuel pumps are coming on then who knows. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
As a teacher there is always something to learn. The factory workshop manuals are your textbooks with valuable info to help you with your new motorcar.
The Bentley Heritage site has workshop, service bulletins and parts diagrams. Enjoy.

·
Registered
28 Posts
The hydraulic system is the big difference in Rolls and other cars you may be familiar with. Think of it this way-
There ae 2 hyd systems in the car #1 and # 2;
Both systems have their own pump mounted on the cam galley top of engine (Takes a special "socket" to remove)
The brakes have both systems to power them
The front brakes have two (2) calipers each (4 brake pads per wheel) These are no different than normal calipers to service only they have special "W" springs (one each caliper) to remove and install. Horizontal pins hold the pads in.
The rear brakes have one caliper per wheel but four pistons in each caliper. Still nothing difficult to change.
Here's how they work-
The pumps supply the pressure to make the brakes work BUT the pedal doesn't actually "compress" the fluid it only acts as a valve to allow the pump pressure to go to the brakes (variable pressure by how far the pedal is pushed)
If one or the other pump fails (red panel light on) the other pump supplies enough pressure to make the brakes work.