Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am looking to buy my first RR and I have no idea about these machines.
I have been restoring vintage Jaguars for many years but the RR bug has bit.
Can I get any pros or cons regarding the Corniche? (I am looking at 1975-81)
I happen to like the body and especially the convertible.
Are parts available? Is this a good model of the marque?
Can I get a reliable car or will I have a money pit?
There are no knowledgable technicians in my area that I can trust and I will be doing all of the repair work by myself. (except tranny & tyre repair)

Thanks
Felix

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi Felix

I’ll try to answer some of your questions just to get the discussion going. Hopefully some of the more experienced and knowledgeable guys will reply as well…

The model underwent many changes during its production run. The earlier cars were called Mulliner Park Ward coupes or drop head coupes. It became the Corniche in around 1972 or 3. To tell them apart look at the radiator grill, the Corniche has a deeper grill, when viewed from the side. Then in about 1987 the chromed bumpers were replaced by rubber bumpers, which gave the car a more modern look (in some markets the rubber bumpers may have appeared earlier) Note however, that unlike the 4-door Silver Shadow, the early Corniche with rubber bumpers was not called Corniche II. The Corniche II was only introduced in 1987, ten years after the introduction of the Shadow II. I mention this because earlier cars are often advertised as Corniche II’s, obviously at inflated prices.

Parts are freely available, especially if you have Internet access and a credit card. Like with Jaguars, there are several very good suppliers in the UK who ship worldwide.