Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The time has come for a new accumulate sphere on my 1976 SS (number #1 system). I purchased a beautifully rebuilt and charged unit from British Tool Works – it looks factory new (below).

I'm not a mechanic and this will be a first-time attempt at this repair. I’ve been reading the manual. However, it’s still not clear to me whether or not I have to remove the entire accumulator assembly, or can I just depressurize the system and remove the sphere from the value body while the valve body remains attached to the car? I understand removing the sphere can be tough and I have chain wrench on standby for that. The last time this sphere was replaced was 4-5 years ago by a RR shop, so I presume they did not over tighten.

To me, it looks like the Sphere simple unscrews by turning the nut under the charging-value cap.

Please share if you have knowledge of this procedure.
Thanks.

1594345450165.png

·
Registered
666 Posts
It's certainly worth a try. Just be very careful not to inadvertently unscrew the two hemi-spheres, as noted in the instructions you displayed. I personally would fully discharge the accumulators first to make them safe. I believe Kelly sells a tool to do this.

If they are too tight then removing the spheres and acvs as a unit will be the only option - just 3 pipes and 3 bolts and they are off. Sounds easy - the problem is accessing them. I used a variety of wrenches, sockets and wobble extension bars when I did the job, working from the side with the front wheel removed. Think keyhole surgery. If you have a lift then I suspect the job would be much easier.

If you do have to remove the acvs make sure you use two wrenches on the high pressure pipe from the pump, otherwise you might twist and split it.

BTW you are right, the sphere simply unscrews from the acv - the problem is it can be very very tight.

Geoff

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3