Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I have been restoring my T1 5139 for the last 6 months and have completed the interior etc, however I have an annoying engine rattle under load which I cannot diagnose. L believe engine mileage may be 143k.

It feels like it is a collapsing hydraulic tappet, but all nice and quiet at idle or steady load or decellerating. I have had all the tappets out, tested them with the proper RR leak down tester and found 3 that would leak down very quickly at 2 seconds, 5 seconds and 7 seconds. Minimum should be 20 seconds maximum 90seconds. So the 3 weak ones were replaced with known good ones, put it all back together and the same rattle persists.

The noise is engine speed related, feels like it’s coming from the engine gallery area and is more like a hollow rattle than a knock. The noise increases if the load on the engine increases. It’s not the hydraulic brake pumps by the way. Those have been removed and the braking system has been converted to a conventional dual master cylinder and remote servos.

Would anyone have some ideas of where to look next? Weak valve springs? Cam looked good, no lobe wear.
Any assistance appreciated.
Thanks
Ian

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi, thanks, but I can’t use a stethoscope when it’s under load I.e driving down the road and at idle it’s all quiet. To be more precise the noise is only there when car is accelerating. No noise when reving the engine.

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, I could do with an old boy, take him up the road. It does it instantly you accelerate and it’s a very distinctive rattle. I will do a vacuum test as well to see if that indicates anything. Also might run it on 7 cylinders and see if that pinpoints anything.

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·