Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and thanks for reading,
I’m an automotive service technician with 42 years experience working on automobiles and I have worked on a wide variety of vehicles equipped with the Bosch CIS and Motronic systems installed, including a number of Rolls Royces and Bentleys.
This car belongs to a friend of mine and came to me as a no start which ended up being lack of fuel delivery due to a seized fuel pump. After installing a new Bosch pump the car fired and ran reasonably well. I test drove the car and it occasionally felt like it was dropping a few cylinders and was lower on power than I expected it to be (its been awhile since I’ve driven a Turbo R).
In any case I drove the car several times (about 90km total) and after parking the car I went to move it inside my shop and it started, ran for 2 seconds and quit, the cause being no spark from either ignition system.
I used my oscilloscope and checked the outputs of both the crank and engine speed sensors and both look good. I checked powers and grounds to both the spark amplifiers and motronic unit - all good. I opened the motronic unit and someone has reflowed the solder on a number of circuit board connections.
I sent the motronic unit to a test/repair facility in germany and they say that they cant find an issue. I was hoping for a more definitive diagnosis but apparently that isn’t coming.
Before I pull the trigger and purchase a new Motronic unit, can anyone confirm that I am using the correct wiring diagram for the car. The diagram I have I found on this forum but only goes up to 1989, I am concerned that some changes may have been made when the switchover to the 30,000 cars was made.
The vehicle was built 9/89 and is X31117.
Any thoughts?

·
Registered
353 Posts