1983 RR Silver Spur , Crank no Start - Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 05:45 PM Thread Starter

1983 RR Silver Spur , Crank no Start

Hi forum , I am new here and this is my first post. I am a DIY Mechanic and I have a 1983 RR Silver Spur with the Twin SU HIF 7 Carbs. The car had sputtering issues when purchased 9 years ago, since then and after multiple experiences with bad mechanics and garages ,, the car has been parked and not worked on much until July 2016 , when I actually started to work on it and I managed to start it after replacing a bunch of stuff ,, ofcourse I cranked it a few times before it finally started , but when I pressed on the pedal the engine died ,,
things done after the 9 years :
-carbs rebuilt using the kits from FS,,and SU sites
-Spark plugs replaced
-spark plug wires replaced
-fuel pump replaced
so the issue I am having now is the engine cranks but it wont start ,, as if the fuel is not being sprayed out of the jets ,, when I poor some fuel into the carbs directly and then put the dash pots back , the car almost starts ,, I am confused as to what I have done wrong ,, maybe vacuum lines or something that I have missed ,, maybe something is wrong with the electric choke ,, ,, am I supposed to see fuel come out of the jets with the engine off and key on position or the fuel only sprays out of the jets with the cranking depression ,, and if so how do I check if that is even happening and I dont have a vacuum leak somewhere ,, any help would be appreciate it.
The Full VIN number is : *SCAZS0000CCX06574*

Thank you in advance.
Marc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 05:56 PM Thread Starter