Carbs - Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-08-2015, 06:44 PM Thread Starter

Carbs

Hello
My engine has been running rough lately so I decided to remove the dash pots and have a look inside the carburettor

I did notice that the passenger side carburettor was different to the drivers side in that the little brass round jet bearing I think it's called was raised by about 10mm

I'm not that technically minded with carbs so I don't know if it's correct or not does in raise due to any setting on the carb or choke or is this a fault. ?
Please see picture any help much appreciated
Alec
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image_1423438573159.jpg (100.8 KB, 46 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-09-2015, 05:55 AM

Hi Alec.
When asking a question it's always best to give your vin number and year model etc it makes trying to help a lot easier!!,
Also I have to say the car was running fine before right? And just started running rough?mmy guess is your carb question isn't the issue (.it must have run well with that jet at that setting) was your dash pots dry? Put them back on and refill the dashpot oil let it rest for a while and see how she runs.
Without knowing the model/year/ vin number etc it would be difficult to assist or advise what to check first,,,,,

Chris

Silver shadow MKII 1977 SRH31709
old English white
Chris
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-09-2015, 10:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by The duchess View Post
Hi Alec.
When asking a question it's always best to give your vin number and year model etc it makes trying to help a lot easier!!,
Thank you Chris!! I used to think that people were being nitpicky when they said this, but after dealing with my two cars and those of others for 9 years now I have to say that having your chassis number is essential.

Based upon the avatar, if that's Mr. Hoar's car, it must be a Shadow II.