ACU Test Box (RH8851) - Rolls-Royce and Bentley Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-19-2016, 01:54 AM Thread Starter

Cool ACU Test Box (RH8851)

Hi Guys,

I'm newbie to the Forum. My purpose for joining the forum is to learn more about these wonderful cars we're all in love with. As for me, I own a 1977 SW II LRF32027, ten years strong. Furthermore, it's my intention to make a contribution to the forum so that others may benefit from my experience. Having said that, I would like to introduce a project on the ACU Test Box that i've been working on for over eight years. I've finally completed it and here's what I've accomplished. A brief description: The ACU Test Box for 1965 thru 1980 Rolls Royce motor cars is used to test and troubleshoot various components in the A/C system such as the Servo and Servo Modules. A faulty Servo or Servo Module(s) will render the A/C system partially or totally inoperative. The full description and operating procedures are outlined in the Rolls Royce Shop Manual which is readily available in PDF form on just about every RR forums online. I've used the test box pictured on my 1977 SWII to troubleshoot an issue with the A/C system. The A/C blew cold for the first few minutes after switching on. Afterwards, the air would become warm to the point I had to switch off the unit. I then connected the test box according to the instructions in the shop manual. After following the procedures the test box indicated that the Lower Servo was out of calibration. I followed the procedures to successfully calibrate the servo. This was approximately eight months ago; as of this writing, the A/C system has been blowing cold air consistently. Needless to say, the test box has saved me quite a bit of time and money since I didn't have to take the car to a RR mechanic. Of note, you don't have to be mechanically inclined or be an electrician to utilize the test box. The instructions in the shop manual guides you thro